Costco in Korea, what?

       
I am a very loyal person. Loyal to family, loyal to friends, loyal to products, and loyal to stores. Back home, I am afraid that due to familial ties, I have always been loyal to Sam’s Club. I was raised in a Sam’s Club family, with fond memories of riding on those awesome carts that allow you buy up practically half the store.

I can count how many times I have been to Costco back home on one hand, and always with someone else. Every time I felt a twinge of guilt over my betrayal of my beloved Sam’s Club. However, when I discovered the existence of Costco, a mere hour bus ride from my house, a serious reconsideration of loyalties became necessary. 

        
I firmly decided that in the absence of a Sam’s Club, Costco being my only option, I would simply have to ignore the guilt twinges during my stay in Korea. Then, through the family grapevine I discovered that my parents recently became members at Costco. My world officially exploded. In light of these recent changes, I decided to dispense with the guilt twinges altogether. After all, where else am I going to buy Skippy peanut butter?

With my mind made up, Hayley and I jumped on bus 225 to meet up with another teacher for our Costco excursion. 

Largest bottle of Tabasco sauce I have ever seen. 

Nothing like some yummy tacos to remind me of home. Growing up, taco ingredients were the one thing we could always count on being readily stocked in the fridge. 

       
 I must say, I shamelessly took full advantage of the various samples given out throughout the store. Nothing like little tidbits of free food. Especially, when they tastes like home.

Hayley was kind enough to point out that ‘Asian size’ is an option, just in case.

But for those of us that will not fit into the Asian sizes, it is a good idea to keep an eye out for the US sizes. 

         
While we did see a few fellow foreigners, we were still in the minority. I think we might have gotten a few stares for our rather stuffed cart, but when it takes over an hour to get to Costco, it’s best to stock up while you can. Although, one must select carefully because whatever one buys one must also carry home.

After scouring the store for our edible treasures, we relaxed and drank some delicious strawberry smoothies before departing.

However, before going our separate ways one more step needed to be completed. Just like at home, everything at Korean Costco is sold in bulk, and one person has no earthly need for 12 giant muffins (or at least ones’ waist has no need of 12 giant muffins). Therefore, things must be distributed!

Into the tupperware the muffins must go.
Into each bag go the individual spoils from our Costco adventure. My bag was a bit heavy, but I made it on and off the bus without too much trouble. Still, I was thankful I didn’t buy that 200lb bag of laundry detergent.

        
Today was a good day. Beginning the day drinking coffee and eating a pastry from Paris Baguette with a friend, followed by treasure hunting at Costco, and finally being able to successfully hook up my best purchase of the day, equals good in my book.

Best purchase: I was able to hook up my wifi in under 20minutes, even though the directions were in Korean. 

        
Note: it is important to mention this technology related success, especially for my brothers, who (poor souls) have had to bear the brunt of my past technological ignorance. 



Information

Thankfully Ulsan, Busan, Cheonan, Gwangmyeon, and Sangbong (Seoul) all have Costco!

Click here for directions and Map to the Ulsan Costco.

Click here for information on Costco in other cities.

I would love to hear your thoughts!

