Seaside Tranquility at the Haedong Yonggungsa Temple

“My soul is full of longing 
for the secret of the sea,
and the heart of the great ocean
sends a thrilling pulse through me.”
Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

My friend and sister, ready for the uphill walk to a beautiful seaside temple. 

          
 Similar to the churches and cathedrals of Europe, temples have the tendency to blur together. After visiting several they can start to all look the same and some of the beauty can be lost from over-exposure. 

          
We visited in mid-August, and the blistering heat was a little disheartening. However since I have overseas visitors, it would behooves me to refrain from idle complaints.  This beautiful temple is located along the coast, a short bus ride north-east of Busan.  The monks knew what they were doing when they chose this location for a place of worship and meditation. The seaside location is quite unique as most temples in Korea are found in elevated locations.


Do you have a big school test coming up? You can stop here and pray to the statues of academic achievement

         
Why do I get excited every single time I see the ocean? I love it! After walking down a lovely bamboo surrounded pathway, and down some rather steep stairs, we were rewarded with a glimpse of the deep blue sea and the temple resting at its edge.


       
I had the strongest urge to find a “comfy” rock, pull out my favorite copy of Longfellow’s poetry and spend an afternoon immersed in the richness around me. Then I remembered (sadly) that my Longfellow is at home in Minnesota, and I would most likely die of heat stroke if I sat for too long on the rocks. Oh well, maybe another time, maybe another time for reading that is, not dying of heat stroke.


         There is nothing like quality sister time under a parasol. 

        
side note: My sister has also joined the ranks of the secret parasol society. We have great plans to send some parasols home as well.  The parasol society will begin a new chapter: international relations with ………….. Minnesota. 


I haven’t a clue what the giant bronze pigs signify, but they were cute and therefore photo worthy.

I have still been trying to decide if I like these little guys, or find them slightly creepy. They remind me of a Buddhist version of a garden gnome.

Yes, this would be typical of my awesome sister.  The funny girl has a tendency towards the irreverent

This is the goddess of ………….. oh crap! No, not the goddess of crap, I just can’t pull the name out of the recesses of my brain.  Note to self: always write things down because you think you will remember them, but you won’t.

(recently discovered this is the Great Goddess Buddha of Mercy).


My beautiful friend and beautiful sister, drinking in the serenity and peacefulness around them. 

            I saw this tire on our walk in, but was too distracted by the beautiful, tall, white pagoda behind it. As we were leaving I paused to read the inscription expecting something profoundly spiritual.

                             “Traffic Safety Prayer Pagoda”

          Obviously a beautiful seaside Temple is not complete unless there is a traffic safety pagoda. I believe a notice should go out to the other temples, they are missing out.

            Traffic pagoda aside, I believe the Haedong Yonggungsa is one of the most beautifully situated temples I have ever seen. 

Information
Haedong Yonggungsa Temple (해동 용궁사)
86, Yonggung-gil, Gijang-eup, Gijang-gun, Busan 
부산광역시 기장군 기장읍 용궁길 86
The old Haeundae Station (Busan Subway Line 2), Exit 7.
Take Bus 181 and get off at Yonggungsa Temple (용궁사)

(maybe a 10-15 minute ride, walk up the hill to the temple).

3 thoughts on “Seaside Tranquility at the Haedong Yonggungsa Temple

  1. Hi, I don't see a contact page, so I'll just leave you a message here…

    I have a language learning blog, and I have made a couple of Korean alphabet charts. Now I'm giving them away to people who have Korea-related blogs. If you want to post them on your blog, you can just go here and grab them: http://www.speakoutlanguages.com/korean-chart/

    I just ask that, if you don't mind, you put a link back to my page.

    Have a nice day!

    Ryan
    SpeakOut! Languages

  2. Great! …thanks. If you need any help getting them just let me know. Great pics, by the way! …That is one of my favorite temples in Korea! Ocean + temple = great place to sit and read a book!

I would love to hear your thoughts!

