Vacation Time: a visitor from a distant land

           After graduating from high school I decided to move to Germany (my wanderlust kicked in).  I moved to a small town in Bavaria to work at a guest house. 

     
         There were many difficult things about my time there, but I ended up with the best roommate on earth and we are still the best of friends to this day, eight years later.

Rachel and I outside Original Pancake House, Minnesota 2010.

             She is such an awesome friend that she endured a 36 hour trip to come and visit me in Korea ( Air China is not her favorite airline to say the least). 

I had to introduce her right away to Paris Baguette, the most popular coffee chain in Korea.




I am suffering from summer camp fatigue and her from jet lag, so coffee  has become a very important part of our travel plans.  It’s necessary to always know where the nearest coffee shop is 🙂

         While out and about in downtown Ulsan, we decided to be friendly and make a stop to say hello to the most famous asian icon and possibly pick up a Hello Kitty pencil or two.


         Side note: I tend to get sick if I am sleep deprived or stressed, and summer camp was nothing but sleep deprivation and stress.  


         With a scratchy throat and the beginnings of a cough, I was slightly worried because every time Rachel has visited me in the last three years I have gotten pneumonia during some part of her visit. 

         Low and behold, she arrived, and my scratchy throat blossomed into a full blown nasty cough. Luckily (because of the last three pneumonia visits), she came fully stocked and prepared. 

A full assortment of cough drops, throat lozenges, and herbal tea that helps with coughing. 

     
         Hoping to avoid a second trip to the ER!  

I would love to hear your thoughts!

