2014 fifa Qualifier!!!!!

                    Sometimes I have to pinch myself to make sure that this is actually my life, living in Korea and doing things I never thought I would. Never thought I would eat eel or squid, but that happened.

             I just added a new event to my “cool thing I have done that I never expected” list. 

             We found out that the FIFA Asian World Cup qualifier game. Korea vs. Iran, was going to be played in Ulsan. Of all the cities in Korea, not Seoul, or Busan, but our fair city of Ulsan. How fortuitous! 

Munsu Stadium

           It is an unwritten rule that if such a game is being played within an easy traveling distance, it is incumbent upon one to do everything in ones power to attend said game. I am glad we purchased tickets ahead of time, because the game sold out. 


            Around 40,000 Koreans assembled to cheer on their team, with maybe 100 Iranians scattered in two sections. I thought even that many was impressive. 



           I had to clarify to some Koreans as I was walking to the stadium, that no, I am not from Iran, I am indeed American.  

https://www.youtube.com/v/SzC5cL_mUpg?version=3&f=user_uploads&c=google-webdrive-0&app=youtube_gdata
                      Korean National Anthem and cheering!!!
                                  (and us chanting along)

          It was a super exciting game, and the Koreans around us were quite amused at how animated we foreigners were.  We even joined in the cheering. Although, we had no idea what they were saying, so pretty sure Hayley and I were just yelling, “Hey, Amigo!!!”  That’s what it sounded like they were saying, so we stuck with it.

Myself, Hayley, Kaitlyn, and Sara


          It was a close game, but Iran pulled off the win with a score of 1 to 0. 

          The fans were not happy, and I have to say I was disappointed in their behavior as they started throwing water bottles and various items at the Iranians while they were running their victory lap. 

          Bad form.  I do not approve of poor sportsmanship. 

I would love to hear your thoughts!

