Sports Day at Onyang

        With the warm and sunny weather the last few weeks, it couldn’t have been a better time for the official Onyang Elementary Sports Day.

         The kids were having a blast, I would too if it meant I didn’t have to go to school and play games all day long. But we weren’t left out of the fun either. Hayley and I both participated in the parents relay and the mission race.  

          I sometimes forget that I am in Korea, until something occurs that is oh-so Korean, and then I am reminded.

You would never get kids to line up like this at home, and then expect them to stand there for a good 30 minutes for the opening ceremonies.


      
          Let the fun begin!!

The younger students of team blue and team white racing to throw as many bean bags into the bucket before the time runs out. Blue team totally dominated. 


        

Not sure if I would consider “running through a tube” and sport, but the kids seem to like it, so I didn’t say anything.

Jump rope routine competition.
            Hayley and I were pretty pumped to be allowed to join in with the parents for a relay.  

This would be us receiving directions for the race, in Korean 🙂
     
Yes, I did tear around the corner.
Hayley coming up for the hand off.

           Highlight of the day: Without a doubt, the best part of the day was watching several of the parents wipe out during the parents relay race. These were not graceful slides or skids, but proper head over heels wipe outs. It was hysterical. 


I would love to hear your thoughts!

