What’s up North Korea?

         Well , I finally registered as an expatriate with the U.S. embassy here in South Korea. I have been meaning to for a while, but simply never remembered when a computer was around.

            Many foreigners are registering recently due to the situation with North Korea.  Although the foreigners are unsettled over the tensions, the South Koreans barely even blink an eye over the threats. 

        I have asked several Koreans what they think about the situation, and told them how it is major news back home and consistently in the news in western countries. I usually receive a surprised look and then a shoulder shrug.

        One woman in particular explained it quite well. She said that Koreans have been living under the tension, in the same situation, for so many years it isn’t news anymore, and most definitely doesn’t get sensationalized. This is because it simply isn’t sensational, it’s normal.  Actually, I don’t even know if the North Korean threats even make the news here.

           I have decided to follow the Koreans example and not worry about it, just live my daily life as I have been. I am registered and will be evacuated if the need arises, but as that is highly unlikely I refuse to dwell on gloomy nuclear war related thoughts.

         Here is an article that I believe articulates the feelings in South Korea quite well concerning the “new” threats.

http://www.policymic.com/articles/32263/north-korea-news-is-all-hype

I would love to hear your thoughts!

