Buying Glasses in a Foreign Language

Merriam-Webster Definition: 
          Glasses: an optical device, worn on ones face, with one or more lenses that is used to correct the defects of vision or to protect the eyes.

My Definition:
           Glasses: a combination of glass, plastic, and or wire worn on ones face that one must pay an exorbitant amount of money for. 

         Not in Korea 🙂 The general cost of health related things have just blown me away in the short time I have been here. I decided, just for fun, to indulge in a new pair of glasses. Now the word indulge usually signifies spending more money on something than one should, not so in this case. 

         My fellow co-workers and I decided to make an event of it. It cost me exactly $20 for an eye exam.

Add caption

My lovely co-worker, Hayley, was wonderful enough to brave the exam first.

         Now, I don’t really keep up to date with the latest fashion in regards to glasses, but I know enough to realize that the fashion here and at home are vastly different. At home when it comes to glasses, in general, smaller is better. People have shied away from the massive frames of past decades. 

          I have never seen so many large glasses in one place than when walking down the street or riding the bus in Korea. I have even seen students wearing MASSIVE lens-less glasses, just for show.

Hayley was a good sport to model the selection.

          Needless to say, I haven’t been able to fully support the giant spectacles notion, and so I went with pretty much the smallest frames I could find. My glasses were $10, so including the eye exam I got a brand new pair of glasses for $30. I don’t even want to remember what I paid for my glasses back home.


         Finally, the last awesome thing about buying glasses in Korea, I picked them out and the man told us to wait or come back in 20 minutes and they would be ready. Apparently he has the capability to assemble glasses right there. It was nice not to have come back in a week or more. I am thoroughly satisfied with the experience. 

        Next on the list, inexpensive dental work, maybe?

2 thoughts on “Buying Glasses in a Foreign Language

I would love to hear your thoughts!

