Deliciousness: a successful meal

I wish this is what I could eat every night for dinner, but my Korean cooking skills are, sadly, not this advanced.



Upon arriving in Korea, it can be quite daunting to find and prepare food. Especially if you live in a more rural area like myself.

(I generally can’t stand it when people post pictures of every single meal and morsel they ingest, it’s quite annoying. While I am now slightly annoyed at myself for the following post I was just too excited not to share.)

Thanks to a beautiful Korean friend back in MN, I was able to eat something for dinner tonight other than ramen, rice, or eggs. 

Taking her fabulous (and most appreciated) advice, I purchased several items and then concocted this………………..

While cooking the rice noodles I made a green onion, soybean sprout, and garlic omelet, combined with some chicken cooked in sesame oil. The finished ingredients I piled on top of several squares of seaweed (the green things). 

      DELICIOUS!!!!!

I do realize that for most of us Americans the words “delicious” and “seaweed” are generally considered incompatible. I also had my moments of skepticism. 

I have to admit that I am not an avid fan of the seaweed soup that is served for school lunches, but these dried seaweed squares taste like salty, nutty chips. They blended perfectly with the other flavors.



I am happy to say that I can now successfully bake pumpkin bread in my rice cooker, and I have even made a form of jap chae (although not as good as when made by a Korea).


Shout out to my awesome Korean friend back home for improving my knowledge of available, and yummy food!

I would love to hear your thoughts!

